Red Hood

Red HoodYou are alone in the woods, seen only by the unblinking yellow moon Your hands are empty You are nearly naked And the wolf is angry Since her grandmother became her caretaker when she was four years old, Bisou Martel has lived a quiet life in a little house in Seattle Shes kept mostly to


Deathless Divide (Dread Nation, #2)

Deathless Divide (Dread Nation, #2)The sequel to Dread Nation is a journey of revenge and salvation across a divided America After the fall of Summerland, Jane McKeene hoped her life would get simpler Get out of town, stay alive, and head west to California to find her mother But nothing is easy when you re a girl trained in


Hood Feminism: Notes from the Women That a Movement Forgot

Hood Feminism: Notes from the Women That a Movement ForgotA potent and electrifying critique of today s feminist movement announcing a fresh new voice in black feminism Today s feminist movement has a glaring blind spot, and paradoxically, it is women Mainstream feminists rarely talk about meeting basic needs as a feminist issue, argues Mikki Kendall, but


A Black Women's History of the United States

A Black Women's History of the United StatesA revealing historyat once sobering and empoweringshowing Black women s expansive contributions since the 1600s Spanning over 400 years, this book, written by two award winning Black women historians, prioritizes all voices from poor and working class domestics to middle class reform women to sex





Disfigured: On Fairy Tales, Disability, and Making Space

Disfigured: On Fairy Tales, Disability, and Making SpaceIn fairy tales, happy endings are the normas long as you re beautiful and walk on two legs After all, the ogre never gets the princess And since fairy tales are the foundational myths of our culture, how can a girl with a disability ever think she ll have a happy ending By examining the ways that


Parked

ParkedFor fans of Rebecca Stead and Joan Bauer comes a scrappy, poignant, uplifting debut about family, friendship, and the importance of learning both how to offer help and how to accept it A big hearted novel with characters I wish were my friends in real life Gennifer Choldenko, author of the Al


We Keep Us Safe: Building Secure, Just, and Inclusive Communities

We Keep Us Safe: Building Secure, Just, and Inclusive CommunitiesA groundbreaking new vision for public safety that overturns than 200 years of fear based discrimination, othering, and punishment As the effects of aggressive policing and mass incarceration harm historically marginalized communities and tear families apart, how do we define safety In a time


Tightrope: Americans Reaching for Hope

Tightrope: Americans Reaching for HopeThe Pulitzer Prize winning authors of the acclaimed, best selling Half the Sky now issue a plea deeply personal and told through the lives of real Americans to address the crisis in working class America, while focusing on solutions to mend a half century of governmental failure With stark



Riot Baby

Riot BabyRiot Baby bursts at the seams of story with so much fire, passion and power that in the end it turns what we call a narrative into something different altogether Marlon James Rooted in foundational loss and the hope that can live in anger, Riot Baby is both a global dystopian narrative an intimate


Children of the Land

Children of the LandThis unforgettable memoir from a prize winning poet about growing up undocumented in the United States recounts the sorrows and joys of a family torn apart by draconian policies and chronicles one young mans attempt to build a future in a nation that denies his existence You were not a ghost even


The Nickel Boys

The Nickel BoysThe story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow era Florida.As the Civil Rights movement begins to reach the black enclave of Frenchtown in segregated Tallahassee, Elwood Curtis takes the words of Dr Martin Luther King to heart He is as good as anyone Abandoned by his


The Hate U Give

The Hate U GiveA three time winner of Goodreads Choice Awards Sixteen year old Starr Carter moves between two worlds the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood


The Girl with the Louding Voice

The Girl with the Louding VoiceA powerful, emotional debut novel told in the unforgettable voice of a young Nigerian woman who is trapped in a life of servitude but determined to fight for her dreams and choose her own future Adunni is a fourteen year old Nigerian girl who knows what she wants an education This, her mother has